HGA launches Telangana Premier Golf League, unveils trophy

Hyderabad Golf Association (HGA), one of country’s premier Golf Courses, formally launched the first edition of “Sreenidhi University Telangana Premier Golf League” by unveiling the trophy.

The trophy was unveiled by K S Sreenivasa Raju, IAS, Secretary to Government (Tourism & Culture), YAT&C Department, Government of Telangana, at an event held in the first week of September at HGA. The trophy has been designed to depict the rich culture and heritage of Telangana, exquisitely crafted in the form of the iconic Kakatiya Gate.

The league, sponsored by Sreenidhi University and powered by Magnifiq Securities and NMDC, will be played in eight rounds in different formats spread over five weeks, with 16 teams having 12 players each. Starting from September 12 at HGA Golf Course the league will be played in a Matchplay format with five rounds at league stage and three rounds of knock out/playoff matches of quarterfinals, semifinals and finals.

The League concludes with Final Play-off rounds and prize distribution on Oct 9. Raju praised the HGA for promoting and popularizing golf. “HGA can be a trendsetter in the country and become a popular destination for avid golfers from India and abroad in the times to come,’’ he said.

Dayakar Reddy, president of HGA, said golf has been gaining immense traction among sports enthusiasts and the recent performance of Indian golfer Aditi Ashok at the Olympics has only amplified the fascination for the game.

16 Teams: Sreenidhi University, Apollo Cancer Cure Foundation, Civet Projects Pvt Ltd, Mercy Educational Services 5. Mahi Granites Pvt Ltd., Fountain Head, Valley Warriors, Devpixel Pvt Ltd., Elegans Developers, Classic chemicals, Glendale Edutainment Pvt Ltd., . Bhagyanagar Copper Pvt Ltd., 13. Labonel Fine Baking Pvt Ltd., MYK Laticrete Pvt Ltd., Villagio Estates LLP and Infinia IT Solutions Pvt Ltd.

Some of the prominent players:
Former Indian Test Cricketer SL Venkatapathi Raju; Dr Mahhe, Chairman, Sreenidhi Educational Group; Dr Vijay Anand Reddy, Director, Apollo Cancer Institute; Navin Gullapalli, Global Head, Novartis Business Services; Devendra Surana, MD, Bhagyanagar Copper Ltd; Abhishek Reddy, Serial Entrepreneur; Alla Dinesh, MD, Alfageo; Murali Bukkapatnam, Chairman & CEO of Volksy Technologies; among others.

Source: UNI